I Am Woman; Hear me Roar

I Am Woman; Hear Me Roar

On March 3, 1913, 5,000 suffragists from across the country gathered in Washington, DC, to demand the right to vote.  Despite the racial tension of that time, the founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority (my sorority), one of the largest African American women’s organizations in the country, participated in the Women’s Suffrage as part their first public acts of service.  Imagine 5,000 strong, bold, and determined women walking down Pennsylvania fighting off insults and hurled lit cigarettes as they stood up for something they believed in to make it possible for women like myself to vote.  As I reflect upon this momentous anniversary, I am reminded that their work is not complete.  As evident in the fact that women still earn less than men, it’s harder for women to maintain leadership positions, and some career fields still have a lack of women representation.   In addition, I reflect upon an article I read, “Female Veterans Are Fast Growing Segment of Homeless Population” which cited that 45% of homeless veterans identified as black, 41% white, and 7.6% Latina.  Many of which suffer from PTSD or experienced sexual trauma while in the military.  There is so much work to be done to help others.

Image

Therefore, I challenge my women readers – list what you’re doing to uplift your gender in celebration of Women’s History Month.  Men – what will you do to advocate for women?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Am Woman; Hear me Roar

  1. Cynthia Johnson says:

    As a woman of color in a leadership role, I have had more issues with other women and women of color. This gives me great concern.

Leave a Reply

